jonathanasdf

Serious Dabbler

Ludum Dare 22 – Day 1

leave a comment »

It’s my first Ludum Dare and already 1 day has passed…

The theme “Alone” doesn’t do a great job of inspiring ideas, so instead I was inspired by the “Kittens” theme that lost.

The basic premise is that you have been trapped somewhere by some evil thing, and you want to escape. Also there are kittens that you can pick up and throw to move forward. It’s fine because cats always land on their feet.

So because it seems to involve some physics I decided to try learning Box2D while I was at it. Probably not the best idea.. learning a new engine for a 48 hour contest.. due to that I really don’t have much done. I have the character movements (WAD keys) done, and he can collect coins and go into doors (S key) and there’s some kind of message box that I can use to explain the story in dialogue-style (space key). But, as anyone can tell, no cats, no puzzles, and really, no game. And also no art and no music….

http://megaswf.com/serve/1427308

I’m not sure how much I can get done by the end, but I’m quite interested in finishing this, since I’m not planning to make it a long game with 40 levels or anything. A short but interesting 4-5 levels + a boss fight that I have in mind. Let’s just see if I can actually manage to finish what I say I’m going to finish this time…

Written by jonathanasdf

December 17, 2011 at 6:21 PM

Posted in AS3, Games

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

