jonathanasdf

Serious Dabbler

Google AI Challenge 2011

with one comment

This year Google is again holding an AI development challenge, which can be found here.

Unfortunately I had not heard of the AI challenge in 2010, so this will be my first crack at it (ie. I am in!) This looks like it might be pretty interesting.

The aim of this particular challenge is to design a multiagent AI that controls a colony of ants as they set out to take over the world. Problems explored I believe would be cooperative pathfinding, planning with limited knowledge, offence vs defence, etc. Even just the battle strategies seem like they might be very interesting, since it has inherent and significant noise. I expect that there won’t be an AI that dominates every other AI in every map.

I will probably try to implement increasing cost tree search for the pathfinding portion, and use a evolutionary genetic algorithm for battle strategy, starting with a few preset ones like aggressive or defensive, and applying a different strategy based on the opponent (eg, evolve a genetic algorithm for each opponent, and switch to the one for the current opponent). Hopefully I will be able to make it parametric so fights of n ants vs m ants falls out directly.

I have no idea at all about the general strategy about exploring to get more information vs building up forces, about what size packs to travel in, what formation, etc. Lots of things to play with :D

One thing that I think will be very important to exploit is that the grid is symmetrical, which means you actually have a lot more information than just what isn’t covered by the fog of war.

What I think would be more interesting would be if a team loses all of their hills then all of their currently surviving ants get super strong and aren’t killed as easily :P

Written by jonathanasdf

October 18, 2011 at 9:41 PM

Posted in Programming

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. and like most other things I say I’d do I end up not having time to do…. Don’t think I’ll be able to get anything good done before this ends so I give up :(

    jonathanasdf

    November 15, 2011 at 9:43 PM


Leave a Reply

